Shit I Find Interesting.

mindfulness

As the years pass by, I realize that I am mortal.

I now know that there is not enough time to explore every branch of study to its furthest reaches.

There is not enough time to read every good book or to slog through the bad ones.

There is not enough time for ongoing toxic relationships or for broken healthy relationships.

There is not enough time to be a good husband and father someday; I must do my best today, every day.

There is not enough time to live every life I once thought I might.

There is not enough time to regret the choices I've made or to be angry about the hand I've been dealt: I must make the best of who I am and where I am.

For as the years pass by, I realize that I am mortal.

Steven Mills http://www.stevencmills.ca/

#mindfulness

It seems to be about surrendering, a bit, as I relax my constant need for control. I don't have all the information I need to perfectly plan out my life —– there's so much uncertainty about everything, that I can't possibly know how things should go, what I should do exactly, what will come next. So should I try to plan for every possible outcome, be incredibly prepared for any possible scenario, when I can't know what might happen? Or can I relax and surrender, trusting that I can deal with whatever does come up. So far, that's always been true.

https://zenhabits.net/turbulence/

#mindfulness

The reality is our brain is vast and full of a myriad of random thoughts and impulses, some dark, but our executive function is the switchboard that chooses what we think and what we disregard. That is the reflection of who we are.

We have this fallacy wherein we think the deepest thoughts are the most real; that people who have private thoughts but do not act on them are hiding' their true self; but nothing is less true. It is who we choose to be and what we choose not to be and not to give weight to that is the best reflection of our self.

https://np.reddit.com/r/science/comments/bqagww/mindfulness_which_revolves_around_focusing_on_the/eo2t7qh/

#mindfulness #psychology