Shit I Find Interesting.

politics

This.

I am not depressed but very disillusioned with the rat race, endless consumption, insane baby boomers, insane government, insane social media/device addiction. I just want to live in a cabin on my own land, grow cactus, play mandolin, and cook food/spend time with my kids. Literally all I want to do with the rest of my life. Turn 42 this summer.

https://www.reddit.com/r/science/comments/bdmgg4/indicators_of_despair_rising_among_gen_xers/el02lpx/

#politics #economics

Winner winner chicken dinner.

We will gladly pay higher taxes for the ability to have free healthcare, not own a car, and live somewhere that is not so polluted.

https://np.reddit.com/r/IWantOut/comments/qp0qk/im_just_curious_why_do_so_many_usians_want_to_get/c3zgnyj/

#economics #politics

Trump is a malicious clown but IMO he's got a real chance at a second term. It's the economy, stupid.

I was a classic victim of the great recession. I was successful and happy to live my little life. The worries started in 2008 when the financial company I was with had to close its doors rather suddenly. I had experienced hiccups in my career before, or moved jobs before, but this was like nothing I'd ever seen. For my talent and experience, I couldn't get arrested. I lost everything.

So went the next eight years.

I struggled and I moved around, place to place, trying to get back to good, but it felt like the opportunities that had once been there were gone and it felt like forever. I sold t-shirts for a while. I went from excess to floating bills, and trying to keep the lights on.

I always vote, but I didn't vote last round. I couldn't. I thought Trump was crazy and Hilary was ... well, no.

These past two years have seen a change that I would never have thought possible. The economy rebounded so fast that I wasn't sure what was happening. And then doors began to open again, and I walked through one of them and now I have my life back again.

I'm not a kid, I've seen presidents come and go, but I've never felt an effect as tangible as what I am experiencing now. This is deeply personal to me – my life has changed.

I still think Trump is a little crazy, but I'm down with it and I will literally run to the polls to re-elect him. And if you think I'm the exception, you're nuts. There are millions of me who have seen their worlds slowly come back again or get tangibly and personally better. That's a story that hasn't been told through politics in a very long time.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Conservative/comments/b76qb0/when_trump_was_elected_my_first_thought_was_yikes/

#politics #economics